Web Console Guide

Cockpit is a web based interface allowing you to monitor and control individual hosts via your browser. Alternatively, you may open a web console to access the host.

Host Management and Monitoring Using Cockpit

Cockpit is an interactive web interface that you can use to perform actions and monitor Red Hat Enterprise Linux hosts. You can enable a remote-execution feature to integrate orcharhino with Cockpit. When you install Cockpit on a host that you manage with orcharhino, you can view the Cockpit dashboards of that host from within the orcharhino web UI. You can also use the features that are integrated with Cockpit, for example, Lorax Composer.

Integrating orcharhino with Cockpit

By default, Cockpit integration is disabled in orcharhino. If you want to access Cockpit features for your hosts from within orcharhino, you must first enable Cockpit integration on orcharhino server.

  • On orcharhino server, run foreman-installer with the --enable-foreman-plugin-remote-execution-cockpit option:

    # foreman-installer --enable-foreman-plugin-remote-execution-cockpit

Managing and Monitoring Hosts Using Cockpit

You can access the Cockpit web UI through the orcharhino web UI and use the functionality to manage and monitor hosts in orcharhino.

  • Cockpit is enabled in orcharhino.

  • Cockpit is installed on the host that you want to view:

  • orcharhino or orcharhino Proxy can authenticate to the host with SSH keys.

  1. In the orcharhino web UI, navigate to Hosts > All Hosts and select the host that you want to manage and monitor with Cockpit.

  2. In the upper right of the host window, click Web Console.

You can now access the full range of features available for host monitoring and management, for example, Lorax Composer, through the Cockpit.

The text and illustrations on this page are licensed by ATIX AG under a Creative Commons Attribution–Share Alike 3.0 Unported ("CC-BY-SA") license. This page also contains text from the official Foreman documentation which uses the same license ("CC-BY-SA").