Roles

The roles page can be accessed via the administer menu:

Administer > Roles

The roles page forms a part of orcharhino’s user management.

orcharhino roles and their associated filters and permissions are the main mechanism for creating user accounts with limited access rights. A clean install of orcharhino will include some preconfigured and default roles. In addition, new roles can be created using versatile filters and permission settings.

Viewing Existing Roles

Viewing roles
  • Clicking the Create Role button (1) allows you to create a new role.

  • The list (2) displays all roles including their name and description.

  • The Action menu (3) allows you to view existing filters, create new filters, or clone the role.

Creating a Role

Creating a role role tab
  • The Role tab (1) handles all settings related to creating a new role.

  • Choose a unique and meaningful Name (2) for your role.

  • You may add an arbitrary Description (3).

  • The role must be assigned to a Locations (4) and Organizations (5) context.

  • Clicking the Submit button (6) will save your role to orcharhino. Remember to go back to the filters tab once you’ve saved your role as shown below.

Creating a role filters tab
  • Clicking the New filter button allows you to add a filter as shown below.

Adding a filter to a role
  • The Resource Type (1) describes the entity to which permissions are assigned. This examples chooses GPG keys.

  • The Permission (2) field allows you to select individual permissions by clicking on them on the left side. The example chooses to only assign permissions for GPG keys, but not content credentials in general.

  • The Override checkbox (3) allows you to override the context based permissions.

  • The Unlimited checkbox (4) allows you to filter down individual permissions using the Search field (5). The permissions regarding the GPG key resource type are unlimited in this example.

  • Remember to click the Submit button (6) to save your changes to orcharhino.

Note that the role must be unlocked, i.e. you cannot edit any internal roles.

Cloning a Role

Cloning a role is essentially the same as creating a role, with the difference that fields will be prefilled with the settings of the role being cloned.

Viewing a Filter

Viewing a filter
  • The Filters tab (1) lists all filters of the selected role.

  • The table (2) lists the name and permissions of each resource.

  • The Actions menu (3) allows you to edit or delete a filter.

  • The Disable all filters overriding button (4) allows you to prohibit filters from overriding context based permissions.

  • The New Filter button (5) allows you to create a new filter.

  • Clicking the Submit button (6) will save your changes to orcharhino.

You can view filters of an individual role by clicking the filters button on the roles page:

Viewing filters

The table lists all filters assigned to a role, including their resource type and permissions.

Creating a Filter

The following two examples create two different filters to give precise yet restrictive permissions to the Development_Interns_read_only example role:

Creating a filter example 1
  • The Resource Type drop down menu (1) describes the area in which you want to set permissions in. The first example chooses GPG Keys.

  • The Permissions menu (2) allows you to select all permissions you want to assign to a role.

  • The Override checkbox (3) allows you to override the default inheritance from the locations and organizations context.

  • Deselecting the Unlimited checkbox (4) allows you to filter individual permissions with the search field below. This is checked by default to apply to all resources of the selected resource type.

  • Clicking the Submit button (5) will save your filter to orcharhino.


Creating a filter example 2
  • The Resource Type drop down menu (1) describes the area in which you want to set permissions in. The second example chooses Miscellaneous.

  • The Permissions menu (2) allows you to select all permissions you want to assign to a role.

  • Clicking the Submit button (3) will save your filter to orcharhino.

Editing a Filter

Editing a filter is essentially the same as creating a filter, with the difference that fields will be prefilled with the settings of the filter being edited.